DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Hardware & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2008, 12:49 AM   #1
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default How do I turn off my PC

I've just bought an gizmo that will turn off various bits of machinery in the workshop when I switch off the PC.

Being a Mac user, I assumed it would be would be easy to set the Win XP PC to switch itself off each evening but I've been unable to find the setting (if there is one).

How can I do this? It doesn't matter if I can't get it switch on automatically, I just want it to turn itself off.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 01:17 AM   #2
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default

I have seen this done by a friend who wanted to turn his kid's PC off at 9-30pm every night. He used a UPS with software that causes the attached PC to save any files and then shut down when there was a power loss. The UPS was plugged into a good old-fashioned time switch. So power to UPS switched off at 9.30 and the PC shuts itself down.

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website

Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 06:42 AM   #3
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Would it be enough to put the computer in standby or, more likely, hibernation? You could have it hibernate based on your usage patterns (ie, instead of having it shut down at a certain time, it could shut down after NN minutes of non-use).

It might depend on whether the gizmo senses a total absence of power draw or reacts to the power demand from the PC dropping below a threshhold.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2008, 02:55 PM   #4
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Windows Vista has an automatic turn-on and -off feature similar to that found on Macs, but with XP things are more limited: you might want to try playing around with the system standby timings (and hibernation) in the power options control panel.

   
__________________
Robin
Intellectually challenged, alcoholically propelled
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 01:14 AM   #5
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

I think it requires a complete power down but I've not had time to play with it yet.

I did toy with the idea of getting one that definitely did sense the PC going into sleep mode but I decided I didn't want that as I don't want some of the equipment being switched on and off during the day.

If all else fails I'll just have to remember to switch the PC off at night.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 03:05 AM   #6
Barrie Greed
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Stringston, Somerset,UK
Posts: 111
Default

It should be possible to achieve what you want using the Windows Script Host if you are happy dabbling in the black arts.

Have a look at this Microsoft TechNet article which includes a ready made script which you can alter for your particular needs.

Then you can schedule the script to run daily at a given time using the Scheduled Tasks tool which you will find under Accessories\System Tools\.

It's a bit more complicated than it should be but it should get the job done.
Barrie Greed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2008, 04:40 PM   #7
BobRoosth
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 933
Default

You can simply create a shutown.bat file containing the single command

shutdown -s

Then use the Windows Scheduler to run that file at any time you designate.

For other options with this command, click Start. Select Run, enter cmd and click OK. That puts you in a cmd windows (looks a lot like DOS). Enter shutdown /? for all the options.
BobRoosth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 12:45 AM   #8
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Thanks for those suggestions. In the meantime I came across this but haven't had a chance to use it yet as I spent the whole of yesterday trying to get a laser printer to work.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2008, 06:59 AM   #9
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike View Post
Thanks for those suggestions. In the meantime I came across this but haven't had a chance to use it yet as I spent the whole of yesterday trying to get a laser printer to work.
Isn’t it wonderful the way computers streamline our lives, make us so much more productive!

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 02:39 AM   #10
Mike
Staff
 
Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Llanwrtyd Wells
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel View Post
Isn’t it wonderful the way computers streamline our lives, make us so much more productive!
Absolutely. This morning I spent an hour trying to get the broadband and the internal network working. I think it's all just about OK now.

The printer problem was a replacement for an HP2605DN. I decided it was too expensive using that for bulk copies so I bought a used Ricoh 3800C with duplexer. It was ages before I could get it recognised on the network - problem which was finally solved by plugging it into a different socket on the ethernet hub.

It seems to be a bit fussy about paper stock but it does churn out the copies at quite a rate.

   
__________________
Mike

www.welshframing.com
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turn off browser menu? jwoolf09 Web Site Building & Maintenance 6 05-13-2007 10:07 AM
Turn your PDF files into online magazines Pagegangster Print Design 11 01-20-2007 01:08 PM
Michele's turn annc The Corner Pub 3 08-16-2005 02:02 PM
Turn a photo into an illustration JABTE05 Images 15 06-30-2005 11:07 AM
How 2 turn CDs to regular MP3s? ElyseC The Corner Pub 8 06-17-2005 03:12 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.