DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2005, 02:36 PM   #1
Adrian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 183
Default InDesign & multiple monitors

Hi,

Is it possible to set up InDesign so that the toolbars appear on one monitor and the document appears on another? I can't find anything in the handbook.

Best wishes, Adrian
Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 02:47 PM   #2
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,434
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian
Hi,

Is it possible to set up InDesign so that the toolbars appear on one monitor and the document appears on another? I can't find anything in the handbook.

Best wishes, Adrian
About a hundred years ago, when I was using two monitors on my Mac, dividing the two monitors like that was a hardware issue, and nothing to do with the applications at all.

If you can tell us about your hardware and OS setup, maybe someone here will be able to offer some ideas.

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 03:32 PM   #3
Alastair Bruce
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Chesterfield UK
Posts: 9
Default

Yes it is possible and I would highly recommended it, it's been possible since Win 98.
I use 3 monitors - a 21" CRT as primary in the centre and an 18" Eizo TFT on either side. As I generally have Indesign, Photoshop and Illustrator all running at the same time, I find it's a great boost to productivity to have all the palettes arranged on the right hand screen with Indy on the primary and PS and Illy on the left, you can simply drag and drop images back and forth without all the alt/tabbing.
I will also sometimes have acrobat open on the left to compare PDFs with the parent Indy file, or Word on the right for transferring text into Indy.
On my windows XP pro system it was easy to set up, you need an additional graphics adapter for each extra monitor (unless you have a dualhead card such as a Matrox G450 which will drive 2 screens) and you can find guidance here:- http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u..._multimon.mspx.

There is a useful utility here:- http://www.mediachance.com/free/multimon.htm

I'm fairly sure it works in a similar way on Macs, I know Apple supported multiple monitors before PCs

Try it - you can pick up old pci cards for a couple of pounds and even an old 'goldfish bowl' 14" CRT will give you a taste of the increase in productivity you can achieve.

Good luck.
Alastair Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:02 AM   #4
Adrian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Alastair,

Many thanks for that. Sounds like something we need to discuss with our supplier/consultant!

Best wishes, Adrian
Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:06 AM   #5
Adrian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Ann,

Thanks. It is something I remember seeing a looong time ago, hence the question. I'm trying to set it up with a Mac iBook running OSX and an external Sony flat screen monitor. Or do you need more than that?

Best wishes, Adrian
Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 02:48 AM   #6
John Nolan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 31
Default

The iBook is a special case. As shipped from Apple, it only supports "mirroring" on a second monitor. To enable "screen spanning", see this:
http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html
John Nolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 03:41 AM   #7
Adrian
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 183
Default

John,

Many thanks for that reference. Somehting to look into carefully. Have you used this Screen Spanning Doctor software at all?

Best wishes, Adrian
Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 02:46 AM   #8
John Nolan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 31
Default

No, I haven't. I don't own a laptop.
John Nolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 04:49 PM   #9
djb
Member
 
djb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 492
Default

We have it happening all the time here, no special setup required.

Mac OS X, InD CS.
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 05:50 PM   #10
Franca
Staff
 
Franca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Monterey Bay area, CA
Posts: 2,203
Default

OT: I like Perry much better than Homer!

   
__________________
..
..Franca

..
Franca is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monitors & Stuff George General Publishing Topics 17 12-14-2006 03:52 PM
Ways to liven up multiple photo spreads? leekaye Print Design 6 07-18-2006 10:45 AM
Multiple Images in InDesign Proudest Monkey Print Design 9 03-14-2005 04:12 AM
moving multiple tabs in indesign Norman Hathaway Print Design 14 03-08-2005 09:10 PM
PDFs and multiple-language runs Diane Print Production & Automation 2 02-26-2005 02:10 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.