DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2007, 03:18 PM   #1
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default InDesign and can't select text...

I hope I can explain this clearly...

Using ID3.01 and I had an existing document that was 2 pages long that I was modifying to get down to 1 page. Everything was working just fine until I deleted the 2nd page and then I discovered that the mouse would no longer select--I'm not sure that deleting that 2nd page has anything to do with the problem but that's the last "major" sort of mod I'd done when I discovered the problem...

With the document open and the Select tool active, I double-clicked in the document, the tool changes to the Type tool and the cursor is sitting at the bottom of the page--just to the left of the end of document marker and I can't get the cursor to move using the mouse--I can move it using the arrow keys--and trying to use the mouse to select a block of text is not working either...

It's really weird and I can't figure out what I've done to cause the problem...

Fortunately I had another saved modified copy and I just used that one and have no problems with the mouse/cursor use...

Suggestions???

Thanks!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 05:19 PM   #2
bmann
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 192
Default

I've never had a problem like this before. I'd be interested in inspecting the file if you can email it to me?

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
I hope I can explain this clearly...

Using ID3.01 and I had an existing document that was 2 pages long that I was modifying to get down to 1 page. Everything was working just fine until I deleted the 2nd page and then I discovered that the mouse would no longer select--I'm not sure that deleting that 2nd page has anything to do with the problem but that's the last "major" sort of mod I'd done when I discovered the problem...

With the document open and the Select tool active, I double-clicked in the document, the tool changes to the Type tool and the cursor is sitting at the bottom of the page--just to the left of the end of document marker and I can't get the cursor to move using the mouse--I can move it using the arrow keys--and trying to use the mouse to select a block of text is not working either...

It's really weird and I can't figure out what I've done to cause the problem...

Fortunately I had another saved modified copy and I just used that one and have no problems with the mouse/cursor use...

Suggestions???

Thanks!

Terrie
bmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:25 AM   #3
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
bmann: I've never had a problem like this before.
Oh good...it is something weird rather than some obvious piece of knowledge that I lack...'-}}


>>I'd be interested in inspecting the file if you can email it to me?

You bet but I need an email addy...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 05:13 PM   #4
bmann
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
Oh good...it is something weird rather than some obvious piece of knowledge that I lack...'-}}


>>I'd be interested in inspecting the file if you can email it to me?

You bet but I need an email addy...

Terrie
bmann_id at the good ol' yahoo dot com
bmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 03:42 PM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
bmann: bmann_id at
Cool...I'll get it out to you tomorrow--I"m just getting ready to go out the door...

Thanks!

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 02:10 PM   #6
bmann
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie View Post
Cool...I'll get it out to you tomorrow--I"m just getting ready to go out the door...

Thanks!

Terrie
Hi Terrie, thanks for the file. What I noticed is that you have an empty text box on top of the text box you are trying to get into. Use the selection tool to select and move it or delete it.
bmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2007, 02:13 PM   #7
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
bmann: Hi Terrie, thanks for the file.
Glad you got the file! Thanks so much for taking a look at it...


>>What I noticed is that you have an empty text box on top of the text box you are trying to get into. Use the selection tool to select and move it or delete it

How totally weird! I wonder how I did that...let me go look and see if I can "see" this box...

That was it!!! Thank you so much!

I don't know how I did that...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 11:23 PM   #8
annc
Sysop
 
annc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Subtropical Queensland, Australia, between the mountains and the Coral Sea
Posts: 4,436
Default

What happens if you use the Select tool and resize the text box? Can you select the text afterwards?

   
__________________
annc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2007, 11:30 AM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Quote:
ann: What happens if you use the Select tool and resize the text box? Can you select the text afterwards?
I can resize the text box using the Select tool but after resizing, I still can't select text...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2007, 12:14 AM   #10
DTP Guy
Member
 
DTP Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Default

Hi Terrie

I'm wondering if this has something to do with an anomaly I noticed when using CS3 yesterday.

I was designing a cover page for a report and I tried using a technique I have always used - that of selecting a headline and using the up and down keys in the font size box to increase/decrease the size. My Mac stubbornly refused to do that and beeped at me. I could select the pre-selected sixes, but not do it interactively.

I shut down ID and tried again and it was fine after that.

   
__________________
DTP Guy
a.k.a Brian Smithson
DTP Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
InDesign CS: Text frame overflow check? bmann Print Design 3 10-15-2006 09:30 AM
Select highlight color in ID2? helene silverman Print Design 2 04-29-2006 03:06 PM
Automating text using InDesign mamartin1 Print Production & Automation 5 02-17-2006 02:40 PM
Breaking text links in InDesign Norman Hathaway Print Design 3 01-17-2006 09:15 AM
Indesign linking text mdeligt Print Design 1 06-23-2005 04:30 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.