DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > General Publishing Topics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2007, 12:36 PM   #1
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default Help! Where do you put Word's switches

I've used Word's start up switch that opens Word at the file where I was last working for years: it's simply Winword.exe /mFile1. But where do you put it? I've just upgraded Word, and can't remember where the switch goes.

Please help an aged colleague with a very bad memory!

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 12:53 PM   #2
gary
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: In the heart of Lake Minnetonka
Posts: 337
Default

You need to create a "shortcut" with the switch appended to the command line.

Right-click desktop, select new shortcut, enter "winword.exe /mFile1", click OK, describe ("resume Word").
gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:50 PM   #3
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Gary:

Quote:
You need to create a "shortcut" with the switch appended to the command line
Yes (and thanks), but that doesn't work, although 'Run' recognizes the command Winword.exe /mFile1 and carries it out. If I try to add anything to C:\ . . .\Winword.exe, Windows just tell me there's no such file.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 12:55 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,918
Default

I don't really have a clue but my best guess is that if you create a shortcut (on the desktop?), you'd add the switch in the "Target" area on the Shortcut tab...

For example, I have an Explorer shortcut on my desktop and the "Target" entry is:
%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /n,/e, /select, c:\

which sets Explorer to open with all my drives listed and the highlight set on my C: drive

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:55 PM   #5
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Terrie:

Quote:
For example, I have an Explorer shortcut on my desktop and the "Target" entry is:
%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe /n,/e, /select, c:\
That appears to be just what I do; but see my reply to Gary. I thought it might be Word 12 that doesn't recognize the switch (it doesn't recognize a lot of things!), but it clearly isn't.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 08:38 PM   #6
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

This as the target of the shortcut works here:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\WINWORD.EXE" /mFile1

(Substitute the full path to Winword.exe on your computer, of course)

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 05:34 AM   #7
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Steve:

Quote:
This as the target of the shortcut works here:

"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office12\WINWORD.EXE" /mFile1
Ah! Here too: I was trying to include the switch between the quotation marks before. Thanks.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 03:43 PM   #8
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

And thank you for mentioning this. I didn't know about the /mFile1 switch. Neat trick. I wonder if it works for ...

Steve, don't wonder, try it ...

Yes. It does ... apparently you can invoke any file on the most recently used list by changing the number:

/mFile4 will open the fourth file on the list, for example.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2007, 05:29 PM   #9
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Steve:

Quote:
I didn't know about the /mFile1 switch
Possibly because you didn't read Microsoft's previously excellent handbooks, which it used to supply with Word (until some clever Microsoft employee realized that Microsoft Press could sell them profitably). The switch is useful, because if the file opened proves to be the wrong one (because, for instance you were working with several files, or, perhaps, were drunk at the time), it spares you from that dreadful blank 'Document1'.

Yes, of course it works with File4, but who would remember which file that was? (Hmm: possibly someone that knows whether things go outside or inside quotes.)

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2007, 11:20 AM   #10
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Steve:



Possibly because you didn't read Microsoft's previously excellent handbooks, which it used to supply with Word (until some clever Microsoft employee realized that Microsoft Press could sell them profitably). The switch is useful, because if the file opened proves to be the wrong one (because, for instance you were working with several files, or, perhaps, were drunk at the time), it spares you from that dreadful blank 'Document1'.

Yes, of course it works with File4, but who would remember which file that was? (Hmm: possibly someone that knows whether things go outside or inside quotes.)
I *did* read the handbook for the first version of Word I used. And it was indeed quite good. But it was also a very long time ago (it ran under DOS on a 286, whatever version that would have been).

I learned to use it for what now seems the most improbable of reasons ... it had, for its day, excellent support for PostScript printers, something that none of the other word processors offered, to my knowledge. I had an Apple LaserWriter at the time; getting it to work with PC software was a mystical art. When I finally gave it away, there were still splatterings of black candle wax and bits of chicken feather stuck to the serial interface.

Nowadays, I suspect MS doesn't ship Office versions until something to do with PS support has been broken or botched.

And quotes? Simple enough rule:

If a path\filename has spaces in it, put quotes around the whole thing. Or put quotes around ALL path\filenames. It won't hurt.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MS Word's embedding restrictions Michael Rowley Fonts & Typography 8 02-20-2006 03:13 PM
Suppress Word's "File Download" dialog? Lab309 Web Site Building & Maintenance 1 01-13-2006 10:09 AM
Getting rid of Word's blue links annc Print Design 35 06-04-2005 07:49 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.