DTP

Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web

Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Old 02-07-2007, 12:12 AM   #1
mohitgarg

Default Printing a booklet

So I am printing this booklet (The one that is inside a DVD case) and I created a document with 20 pages. So each page of this booklet is less than half of A4. Now how do I print this document so that I can print on both sides of paper and when I take these papers (A4) and fold them it is a book. You should be able to fit 2 pages of booklet size on an A4. I am a Novice using InDesign so I don't know how to do this. So I should be able to print it on to 5 pages double sided and the fold them to have a thickness of 10 pages

Last edited by mohitgarg; 02-07-2007 at 12:31 AM.
mohitgarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 05:49 AM   #2
LoisWakeman
Staff

I don't know InDesign - but what you are looking to do is called "imposition" - so try looking in the help for that.

Some programs allow you to select a printing style (e.g tentfold or booklet) and do it for you.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 07:03 AM   #3
ktinkel
Founding Sysop

Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mohitgarg View Post
I created a document with 20 pages. So each page of this booklet is less than half of A4. Now how do I print this document so that I can print on both sides of paper and when I take these papers (A4) and fold them it is a book. You should be able to fit 2 pages of booklet size on an A4. I am a Novice using InDesign
First, some terminology so you can discuss this (and read about the process):

You have created your booklet in “reader spreads” and you need it to be in “printer spreads” for printing. As Lois said, this process is called “imposition.”