DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Fonts & Typography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2006, 01:00 AM   #1
yorkyboy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default Times they are a changing!

I've just reinstalled windows and all my apps and fonts but now Framemaker refuses to display CE characters!

What's wrong with bloody CE characters would it cost adobe/Linotype etc the earth to just release their fonts with five or six more characters in place!

Half of my hair is already grey from trying to get FM to display a t' in Czech.

This poor country has suffered enough under the hasrsh regimes of the last 50 years or so, so why can't the big guns in the font world just put a few more flakey characters into their font files....

Seriously though if anyone knows how to tweak FM or windows to fix the CE font issue I would be very greatful.
yorkyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 02:21 AM   #2
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yorkyboy View Post
I've just reinstalled windows and all my apps and fonts but now Framemaker refuses to display CE characters!
I don't knwo what "CE Characters" are, but maybe your probleem is a matter of Windows configuration. Go to Control panel, Regional Options, and find Language settings; check every language you need support for.

(You may need to do somethnig similar in Framemaker as well - I don't know the program - so check for language support in options there as well.)

Whether the needed glyphs exist in your font files is an entirely different matter - but Windows languages support comes first and is essential.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 05:55 AM   #3
donmcc
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sarnia, Canada
Posts: 1,122
Default

CE generally means Central European. I believe it is Latin with additional accents, and national characters like the slash L and others.
donmcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 07:21 AM   #4
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Quote:
now Framemaker refuses to display CE characters!
FrameMaker can't display any character that is outside the ANSI range (0–255); if your using a Western European font, it won't display the additional characters used in languages using modified Latin scripts (such as Polish): you have to use another font. Windows NT5 (2000 or later) and the later Mac operating systems recognize Unicode, but FrameMaker still works on its ages-old system.

Almost any Adobe Open Type font produced in the last few years has Western and Central European characters, and the same goes for most of the fonts supplied with Windows.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 11:10 AM   #5
yorkyboy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the input guys it was more of a spleen venting excercise really.

I work in foreign language typesetting so this is a familiar issue I'm afraid.

Unfortunately Frame doesn't cope to well with OpenType fonts.

I will keep nudging and coaxing windows and FM to see if I can fix it.
yorkyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 02:51 PM   #6
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Quote:
Unfortunately Frame doesn't cope to well with OpenType fonts
Well, FrameMaker 7.1 can't cope with anything above U+00FF, but I have an idea that FM 7.2 fudges a few characters above that; so any Open Type font with more than 256 characters is just a waste.

The FrameMaker forums might have a partial solution.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 03:31 PM   #7
bmann
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 192
Default

Arial.TTF supplied with Windows supports CE glyphs and so does Framemaker without any tweaking. If Frame won't load certain fonts that's a different problem.
bmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 02:06 PM   #8
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Quote:
Arial.TTF supplied with Windows supports CE glyphs and so does Framemaker without any tweaking
Quite a few Windows fonts have CE characters (e.g. Georgia, Verdana), but as they're all Open Type fonts, only a few of those characters can be accessed using the ANSI codes (e.g. Š). The 'small letter T with caron' that was sought is U+0165, but 0185 in the CE (1250) code page. How do you get it from a OT font in FrameMaker? I must confess, I don't know. If you import a Word file containing CE characters, nearly all are ignored in FrameMaker.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 04:42 PM   #9
bmann
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley View Post
Quite a few Windows fonts have CE characters (e.g. Georgia, Verdana), but as they're all Open Type fonts, only a few of those characters can be accessed using the ANSI codes (e.g. Š). The 'small letter T with caron' that was sought is U+0165, but 0185 in the CE (1250) code page. How do you get it from a OT font in FrameMaker? I must confess, I don't know. If you import a Word file containing CE characters, nearly all are ignored in FrameMaker.
I just copied and pasted Czech text from an ANSI file (Trados TTX file) right into Framemaker and the default font (Times New Roman) showed all of the necessary characters.
bmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 07:52 AM   #10
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

Quote:
I just copied and pasted Czech text from an ANSI file
Does your specimen of Czech from an ANSI file paste in FrameMaker as an object or as text? And did the ANSI text contain any characters that don't require codes above U+00FF? I tried pasting 18 different characters from Word, and 16 of them were reproduced as objects (they were non-editable); the two that weren't reproduced appeared as question marks. When I imported the original Word file, all except Š and its lower case equivalent were simply ignored.

I haven't got any Type 1 CE fonts, so I don't know what glyphs they contain: the Unicode standard does not refer to 'CE' scripts at all, but all the exclusively CE characters will be in the Latin B range. The particular one mentioned, t', is an alternative often used in Czech printing for t with a hacek; it is in the Unicode set (U+0165), but might not be in the Code Page 1250.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing margins in an IDCS2 doc twboy Print Design 1 01-22-2007 06:27 AM
Small bug changing password BinkyM How to Use the Forum 1 10-29-2005 12:32 PM
Changing web hosts ktinkel Web Site Building & Maintenance 0 10-21-2005 10:26 AM
The changing nature of the web LoisWakeman Web Design 11 10-21-2005 07:29 AM
changing default browser in Elements 3.0 abrand888 Software 3 02-24-2005 06:38 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.