DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2006, 04:53 PM   #1
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default Photoshop layers in InDesign?

Is there a way to import a layered PSD file into InDesign (both CS2) and move the PSD layers about? I can see how to turn the layers on and off when importing, but I'd like to be able to do more, eg to stretch the background and create bleed.
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2006, 02:43 PM   #2
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,946
Default

Quote:
robin: Is there a way to import a layered PSD file into InDesign (both CS2) and move the PSD layers about?
I don't have CS2 installed (yet!) and so I'm using ID3.01 and I tried placing a layered psd and the psd layers are not accessible but I thought they were supposed to be so I did a search in the Help file on "psd" and in "Importing PSD Files" is states:

"When a Photoshop file is placed in a document, all layers and layer masks are automatically flattened."

Soooo...is CS2 different???

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2006, 03:44 PM   #3
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
Soooo...is CS2 different???
When you import a layered PSD you can shoose to turn the individual layers on or off, or elect to use Photoshop's layer visibility instead. But the image is still flattened in ID, and that's a shame.
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 01:15 PM   #4
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,946
Default

Quote:
robin: But the image is still flattened in ID, and that's a shame.
Yeah...could you get around it by making the psd layers their own images and then combining in ID??? Probably a pita though...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 03:20 PM   #5
Howard White
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie

"When a Photoshop file is placed in a document, all layers and layer masks are automatically flattened."
Soooo...is CS2 different???
Terrie
From CS2 Help:
"When a Photoshop file is placed in a document, all layers and layer masks are automatically flattened. These changes affect the file inside the InDesign document only--the original Photoshop file is not altered. If you save paths, masks, or alpha channels in a Photoshop file, InDesign can use them to remove backgrounds, or to wrap text around graphics. Graphics that contain paths, masks, or alpha channels act as transparent objects when imported."

Sooo... CS2 isn't different; I thought maybe turning off "Maximum Compatibility" in Photoshop export would make a difference, but seems not.

HW
Howard White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 09:03 AM   #6
Cristen Gillespie
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 814
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howard White
From CS2 Help:
"When a Photoshop file is placed in a document, all layers and layer masks are automatically flattened. These changes affect the file inside the InDesign document only--the original Photoshop file is not altered. If you save paths, masks, or alpha channels in a Photoshop file, InDesign can use them to remove backgrounds, or to wrap text around graphics. Graphics that contain paths, masks, or alpha channels act as transparent objects when imported."

Sooo... CS2 isn't different; I thought maybe turning off "Maximum Compatibility" in Photoshop export would make a difference, but seems not.

HW
Maximize Compatibility creates a flattened copy inside the file that allows other programs (including other versions of PS) to see a file they might not otherwise be able to translate.

You wouldn't really want ID to bring in a layered PSD file as is, would you? I mean, what's ID going to do with Adjustment layers and what are you going to do with 30+ layers where one would do?

   
__________________
Cristen
Cristen Gillespie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 12:39 PM   #7
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristen Gillespie
I mean, what's ID going to do with Adjustment layers and what are you going to do with 30+ layers where one would do?
Of course you have a point, and that's probably why Adobe decided that ID should flatten the thing. But in some situations it would be nice to have the option to import it flattened or not so you can get at the bottom layer, say, and give it a shove.

Oh, and ID rasterises the text.
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 01:52 PM   #8
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Springall
But in some situations it would be nice to have the option to import it flattened or not so you can get at the bottom layer, say, and give it a shove.
In those cases, why not ask the designer to send you the .psd file? Might save aggravation!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Springall
Oh, and ID rasterises the text.
If that is not satisfactory, your customer should create it in the ID document, not in the placed Photoshop image, right?

I have never understood why anyone would try to set type in Photoshop. I know it has become more controllable over earlier versions, but it is really not a typographic tool.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 02:32 PM   #9
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,946
Default

Quote:
kt:I have never understood why anyone would try to set type in Photoshop. I know it has become more controllable over earlier versions, but it is really not a typographic tool.
True but for many things I do, it's quicker and easier to do in Photoshop--single page stuff mostly...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 05:17 PM   #10
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrie
True but for many things I do, it's quicker and easier to do in Photoshop--single page stuff mostly...
Quicker and easier is not necessarily the main set of considerations when it comes to type, though!

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dreamweaver, Show-Hide Layers, not working zofiaphoto Web Design 9 08-12-2006 01:24 PM
Need help with CSS layers jwoolf09 Web Design 1 11-04-2005 04:00 PM
Photoshop CS2 is Shipping Andrew B. Software 1 04-27-2005 10:41 PM
New Photoshop Site terrie Images 5 04-06-2005 05:52 PM
Photoshop CS2 Norman Hathaway Images 9 04-06-2005 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.