DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > How to Use the Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2006, 12:21 PM   #1
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default Slow access here?

I have been experiencing very slow access here for the past few days. But before I go yammer at the host, thought I would ask if the rest of you would let me know whether you too have been waiting a lot for the index page or for threads or messages that you have requested.

Just now it took 64 seconds between my clicking on Get Posts > New Posts before the list appeared on my screen. Two days ago, it was so slow I timed out twice.

I will test some other browsers, but would appreciate any reports confirming (or not) this problem.

Thanks.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 12:27 PM   #2
Kelvyn
Staff
 
Kelvyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: In the Heart of the English Lake District
Posts: 1,381
Default

It has been up & down for me. Lighning fast at the minute, but 20secs delays earlier today.

   
__________________
Kelvyn

Web site design, hosting and marketing, Keswick in the UK Lake District

If you are planning a visit to Keswick then try Keswick Tourist Information website

Kelvyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 12:33 PM   #3
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Yes, sometimes slow response

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvyn
It has been up & down for me. Lighning fast at the minute, but 20secs delays earlier today.
Yes, sometimes I have experienced slow response here.

Kelvyn, remember that you are 6 hours earlier than the USA, so mornings for you are the wee hours of the night here, and that may affect results.

Can someone tell us where the server is located?
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 09:22 PM   #4
don Arnoldy
Curmudgeon
 
don Arnoldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8
Can someone tell us where the server is located?
Texas

   
__________________
--don
don Arnoldy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 02:04 PM   #5
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,944
Default

Using Netscape 7.2 and on comcast cable, I've not experienced any problems over the last week or so...

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 04:58 PM   #6
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

No problem here though I think it has been snappier. But I tend to have a very loaded desktop these days with many open (minimized) windows, and browser and editor windows with many tabs: available memory can get low and that does slow things down. So I dunno - could be me, could be the site, could be the network...

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 06:38 AM   #7
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback
No problem here though I think it has been snappier. But I tend to have a very loaded desktop these days with many open (minimized) windows, and browser and editor windows with many tabs: available memory can get low and that does slow things down. So I dunno - could be me, could be the site, could be the network...
I have a similar pattern, so closed everything and restarted, and was still slow.

It seems to be a time-of-day problem, with the slowest response around 4 p.m. EDT. We were moved to a new server a few weeks ago, and I’m wondering about requesting a change, but would like to be sure this is a server problem.

May not ever be sure, of course.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 08:08 AM   #8
iamback
Member
 
iamback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 4,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
I have a similar pattern, so closed everything and restarted, and was still slow.

It seems to be a time-of-day problem, with the slowest response around 4 p.m. EDT. We were moved to a new server a few weeks ago, and I’m wondering about requesting a change, but would like to be sure this is a server problem.
You could try a traceroute (tracert) to eliminate (or find!) any congestion or other problems on the network between you and the server. No problem from here but you may not be going through the same nodes.

If you have access to the forum code another analysis option might be to enter some code to display the time between a request and the result being (ready to be) sent to the browser (optionally shown to an admin only). Possibly the forum software actually has such an option that only needs to be turned on.

   
__________________
Marjolein Katsma
Look through my eyes on Cultural Surfaces (soon!), My ArtFlakes shop and Flickr.
Occasionally I am also connecting online dots... and sometimes you can follow me on Marjolein's Travel Blog
iamback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 08:40 AM   #9
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamback
You could try a traceroute (tracert) to eliminate (or find!) any congestion or other problems on the network between you and the server.

. . . code to display the time between a request and the result being (ready to be) sent to the browser (optionally shown to an admin only). Possibly the forum software actually has such an option that only needs to be turned on.
Thanks. We will look into that.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 02:27 PM   #10
PeterArnel
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North of Swindon in the UK on the edge of the Cotswolds
Posts: 997
Default

Kathlleen
I am dial up here (daughter has Broadband ) and i dont have problems at all
Peter
PeterArnel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Access to forum using Opera Michael Rowley How to Use the Forum 4 12-24-2005 07:00 AM
How do I access ASCII codes in Firefox? Michael Rowley How to Use the Forum 10 12-24-2005 01:49 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.