DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Design

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2006, 02:20 PM   #1
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default Funny Quark thingy #75

Forgive me: I'm going to do a rant...

Make a new Quark document (any version, Mac or PC) and create a page-sized box filled with, say, Pantone Red 032. Then create a picture box anywhere on the page, containing a black and white Illustrator EPS (no halftones, just solid black); set the pic box fill either to the Pantone or to none. Print to Distiller and create a press PDF, remembering to tick the Overprint EPS Black box under the Output tab in Quark's print dialog. Do it twice: once to create a composite PDF, and again to produce a separated file. View the results in Acrobat Professional 6 or 7.

The separated file has two pages: black, and a solid Pantone, showing that the black is indeed overprinting like wot you told it. However, when you inspect the composite file using Acrobat's Output Preview, and turn off the black ink, you see that the black has knocked out the underlying Pantone colour.

Does this matter? Not if you're printing from films, 'coz you can print 'em from the separated PDF. But it's a major pain up the proverbial if you're printing CTP and your printer (the lovely Hurricane Catarina) insists on printing from the composite file where the trapping is wrong. I know, she knows, and so you you, dear friends, that we're going to get little weeny white lines round the black, isn't we? Oh yes, we is. Grrrr.

I've found a way round it, though. Open the eps in Frustrator, (remember to select then delete any stray points) then select the whole damn file and, from the Attributes window, choose overprint fill and overprint stroke. Save the file and reimport it into Quark. Now, even if you forget to turn on Overprint EPS Black, it overprints in both composite and seps - yippee!

Didn't take long to work this one out - JUST ALL BLOODY AFTERNOON!!

Hope this helps,
Night night!
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 12:49 PM   #2
terrie
Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 8,916
Default

Poor you!!! '-}}

Terrie
terrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2006, 01:02 PM   #3
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin Springall
Forgive me: I'm going to do a rant...
You have a right to rant.

You do have the knack of finding these things. But is that a good thing?

Hope you are having a nice sleep.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2006, 08:49 AM   #4
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
You do have the knack of finding these things. But is that a good thing?
I suppose I find them because I'm a bit of a pedantic nerd -- just a bit, mind -- but mainly because I like my files to be technically right on the button.

I experimented with InDesign, doing the same thing as Quark, from the original EPS. First, ID had a white box for the EPS until I turned on Overprint Preview from the View menu. Then I printed to Distiller as before: with ID, both the composite and separated PDFs did not overprint the black. So here's one example where Quark's EPS handling was "better" than ID's. I hadn't come across overprinted in Frustrator before now, but I'll have to watch out for it in future.
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 10:29 AM   #5
grmgroup
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Ealing, eh? Isn't that a few tube stops past Chiswick? I used to live in Chishwick many, many years ago.

I downloaded the Q7 beta but don't have the nerve to install yet.
grmgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2006, 02:20 PM   #6
Robin Springall
Member
 
Robin Springall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ealing Common, London W5, where I duplicate CDs and DVDs.
Posts: 1,259
Default

Yes, Ealing is pretty close to Chiswick but not in the Thames flood plain (so has better air). I did a job using the Quack 7 Beta on a PC and it seemed to work. It crashed every time I closed it, though I'm hoping this was because it was just a Beta.

We only had that one customer in the last year who had used Quark 6 PC, so I haven't upgraded from 4.1 yet. I've been running 6.5 Mac for ages.
Robin Springall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone got Quark 7 on PC? marlene Print Design 6 09-24-2006 08:24 AM
Funny CSS border behavior jwoolf09 Web Design 2 08-30-2006 05:24 AM
Quark 7 PeterArnel Print Design 11 08-15-2006 01:57 PM
Ridiculous (but funny) ktinkel The Corner Pub 6 04-19-2006 03:00 PM
Quark to ID? BobRoosth Print Design 8 09-23-2005 12:34 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.