DTP


 
Lively discussions on the graphic arts and publishing — in print or on the web


Go Back   Desktop Publishing Forum > General Discussions > Print Production & Automation

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2005, 07:22 AM   #1
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Acrobat RDR 5.1 No print

Instead of printing, Acrobat Reader 5.1 gives me a message "Acrobat Reader" in the heading, "? The document could not be printed."

Can a PDF be set to not print?

Alternatively, can a newer PDF not print with Reader 5.1, even though it is displayed?

Normally, I post over with the former INETPUB members, but this discussion group seems to know Acrobat very well.

www.scssd.org has the newsletter giving me the message.

David
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:13 AM   #2
LoisWakeman
Staff
 
LoisWakeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uplyme, Devon, England
Posts: 1,402
Default

David, you can set PDF security on a document so it doesn't print, text cannot be copied etc.

If it is a compatibility problem you just get a warning that there is something wrong form the reader (e.g. unsupported colorspace etc,.), or else it prints PostScript error info, IME at least.
LoisWakeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 09:27 AM   #3
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8
Can a PDF be set to not print?
Yes, but this one has not been set not to print; in fact, there is no security at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8
Alternatively, can a newer PDF not print with Reader 5.1, even though it is displayed?
Perhaps. But I think its size is the problem. The error may not originate with Reader but with your printer driver. This is a 2.2MB PDF, with 28 embedded fonts, and gazillions of images.

When I tried to print page 1, it took more than 60 seconds before the print screen cleared; and it has been more than 6 minutes and it still has not emerged from my HP 5000 (B&W) printer.

I think this file is an abuse of Acrobat. <g>

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:29 AM   #4
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Not my work!

This is not my work, just some research for a client. The reader is giving me the message, but maybe because it has feedback from the printer driver. I was trying to print on a HP 4 Plus, a workhorse but not a recent printer at all.

Screen capture let me print out the facts that I needed. Nobody, but nobody needs 28 embedded fonts.

Feel free to write to the SCSSD about how strange this PDF is.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
Yes, but this one has not been set not to print; in fact, there is no security at all.

Perhaps. But I think its size is the problem. The error may not originate with Reader but with your printer driver. This is a 2.2MB PDF, with 28 embedded fonts, and gazillions of images.

When I tried to print page 1, it took more than 60 seconds before the print screen cleared; and it has been more than 6 minutes and it still has not emerged from my HP 5000 (B&W) printer.

I think this file is an abuse of Acrobat. <g>
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 11:49 AM   #5
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8
Feel free to write to the SCSSD about how strange this PDF is.
Naw, doubt I will bother. It was so odd that I had to figure it out, that’s all.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 05:14 PM   #6
Steve Rindsberg
Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,742
Default

Somewhere in the Reader printer dialog box, you should be able to find an option labeled something like "Print as image". Put a check next to that and try again.

That often solves this kind of problem, particularly with non-PS printers.

   
__________________
Steve Rindsberg
====================
www.pptfaq.com
www.pptools.com
and stuff
Steve Rindsberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 07:54 AM   #7
dthomsen8
Member
 
dthomsen8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA 19130
Posts: 2,158
Default Reader 7 Does Print

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktinkel
I think this file is an abuse of Acrobat. <g>
I can print this file with Adobe Acrobat 7 Reader. I installed Reader 7 in my alternate boot system, and it does print the pages I wanted from this file.

This file is an absurd mix of various fonts and too much material for one newsletter. I notice that this is the Spring 2005 newsletter, and there hasn't been another one.

The site itself is ranked 2 by Google, doubtless because it uses framing throughout, has no DOCTYPE, and otherwise fails to give search engines much to go on. A similar organization in Center City is ranked 6 by Google.
dthomsen8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2005, 08:14 AM   #8
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dthomsen8
This file is an absurd mix of various fonts and too much material for one newsletter. I notice that this is the Spring 2005 newsletter, and there hasn't been another one.
They would be better off doing something more modest more often.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 02:05 PM   #9
Michael Rowley
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ipswich (the one in England)
Posts: 5,105
Default

David:

Can a PDF be set to not print?

You'd see that (under 'Security' in File Information). However, I've had PDFs that won't print or won't open when viewed in older Acrobat Readers, although there should not have been a problem.

The difficulty sometimes appears to have been caused by the program with which the PDF was made, usually a scanning program.

   
__________________
Michael
Michael Rowley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2005, 02:27 PM   #10
ktinkel
Founding Sysop
 
ktinkel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: In Connecticut, on the Housatonic River near its mouth at Long Island Sound.
Posts: 11,189
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Rowley
The difficulty sometimes appears to have been caused by the program with which the PDF was made, usually a scanning program.
This PDF was made with InDesign CS2.

   
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=LemonChiffon]::[/COLOR][/SIZE]
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
ktinkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acrobat 8 Andrew B. Print Production & Automation 8 09-29-2006 12:44 PM
Acrobat 7 - Manipulating a print button Maureen Print Design 13 09-06-2006 09:51 PM
How Does Acrobat Print? RJ Emery General Publishing Topics 5 01-10-2006 04:07 PM
Who's got Acrobat 7? Michael Rowley Print Production & Automation 39 11-17-2005 08:06 AM
Acrobat 4.0 and Mac OS 9.2 Adrian Print Production & Automation 6 03-24-2005 01:32 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Contents copyright 2004–2014 Desktop Publishing Forum and its members.